Uncategorized

Campo Kitchen! 

Guandú is a bean/pea that grows in Panama around Christmas time through February. The most typical dish to make with it is arroz con guandú. Now I enjoy me some good old arroz con guandú but anyone that knows me knows that rice really isn’t my thing. So I scoured the internet for other ideas. You know what I found? NOTHING. Guandú is called “pigeon peas” in the US so I tried googling that. STILL NOTHING. All of it was a variation of arroz con guandú. Every. Single. Recipe. 

For all you non-believers

So I decided to take matters into my own hands. I wanted a recipe that didn’t have to involve rice. I thought of things I liked to eat. For some reason I thought of lentils and then it hit me! Guandú and lentil curry! So I googled some curry recipes for inspiration and started making so with what I had on hand. This is what came of it. 

Guandú and Lentil Curry

Serves 2

Ingredients:

1/2 cup guandú beans/peas

1-8 cup dried lentils

1/2 cup tomato paste

1/4 onion chopped 

1 clove garlic minced

1/2 tsp Cayenne pepper 

1 1/2 tsp curry powder

Salt 

Pepper

Oil

1/2 cup water (separated into two 1/4 cups)

Instructions

Bring guandú to anrolling boil in salted water and then simmer for 10 minutes (or until beans/peas are soft). Drain and set aside. Bring lentils to a rolling boil in salted water and then simmer for 30 minutes.  These two steps can be done at the same time if you have more than one pot. You can also soak the lentils beforehand to cut down cook time. Drain lentils and set aside with guandú. Sauté diced onion in a little bit of oil. Add salt and pepper to taste. Cook on med-low until onions just start to become translucent. Add minced garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes or until the onions start to brown. Add 1/2 cup tomato paste and 1/4 cup water to the pan and stir. Add 1 tsp curry powder and 1/2 tsp cayenne (this gives it a nice kick but if you’re not into spicy food feel free to omit it or add paprika instead). Stir and let cook for about a minute. Add lentils and guandú and another 1/4 cup of water. Add another 1/2 tsp of curry powder and salt and pepper to taste. Cook until lentils and guandú are heated through and you have a thick sauce. If the sauce is too thick add water by the tablespoon to thin it out. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

