Uncategorized

Campo Kitchen 

Hello and welcome to the first campo kitchen post! Recipes are brought to you from me and my tiny Panamanian kitchen. Some are things I figured out how to make-others are things I’ve modified to work with what I’ve got here. All of them are delicious. 


Chili! Super easy, super tasty, super questionable when you live in a hot environment and your only bathroom is a latrine but hey, you’ve gotta take risks in life. For this recipe I used black beans and kidney beans but feel free to use whatever sort of beans work for you. Same goes for bell pepper. Yellow, orange, and red bell peppers are traditionally sweeter than green so keep that in mind. I just used what I had. Take note of the question marks on the chili powder-again this is a matter of personal taste. I think cayenne is the spice of life so I add a little more to my mix than you might want to (and I make my own chili powder because it doesn’t exist here so my spice ratios are probably different than yours). 

2-Bean Vegan Chili

Serves 2 

Ingredients 

1/2 cup onion chopped

1/2 cup bell pepper chopped

2 cups beans (soaked overnight and drained)

2/3 cup tomato paste

2 cloves garlic chopped

1 1/2 cups water

1 tablespoon oil 

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tsp chili powder 

Directions 

Heat oil in a pot on medium heat. Once the oil is hot add in your bell pepper and onion. Cook this until the onion is translucent or starts to brown around the edges. Add in your garlic and 1 tsp of chili powder and cook on low/med for one to two minutes. It’s important to add the garlic after the onion-onion takes longer to cook and your garlic will burn if you add it at the same time. You also want to add some chili powder in now to really amp up your flavor. Next add in your beans, tomato paste, water, salt, and extra chili powder (if you so desire). Give everything a good mix and cook it on low for about 45 minutes or until the beans are soft and you reach a texture you like. If your chili looks like it needs some thinning out just add water a quarter cup at a time. Top your chili with whatever toppings rock your world! 

Standard

One thought on “Campo Kitchen 

Leave a Reply

