Uncategorized

No More Wasted Time

The past month has been a little bit of a whirlwind for me. There have been days where I’ve been busy from the minute I get up until I get to bed (okay that’s a bit of an exaggeration-but they were very filled days I promise you!) and days where I couldn’t find the motivation to do anything productive and ended up playing a lot of computer games. I started really working on English with Linda. We work for about a half hour each day and each day I try to think of a way to make the class more fun. 

family vocabulary

body parts and family practice

playing memory

My regional leader Chelsea came for my one month visit. Basically it’s a way for them to check in and she how we’re doing and help us address any problems that we’re having. She came on a Friday and my school was having a big Father’s Day celebration. All of the students’ fathers were invited to come to school to participate in games, eat food, and receive gifts. I was pretty proud to see all of the English teachers I work with really shine in the “dinamicas” portion of the event. Dinamicas are games that you get people to play to build up their energy and get them to dejar la pena (stop being shy).

The “king” of the event

In the few weeks after that not much was going on in my life. I spent some time working on my Community Analysis project for peace corps and hanging out with people in the community. Oranges came into season so Linda and I went to hunt some down and basically just spent some time relaxing. A few exciting things did happen though. My host great- grandmother told me that when I move into my place she’ll let me adopt one of the kittens she has! My heart is set on a little gray boy cat. Even more exciting-my friend Cherish asked me to be a bridesmaid in her wedding!! I’m so excited to be a part of her big day and I’ve already sent my vacation request to the office. 

I got offered extra language training from peace corps and it was intense but so helpful. For a week straight I went to school from 8-1:30 and came home for what started off as 2 hours of language training and increased to 3 and then 4 hours. It gave me a chance to work on the grammar that I’ve been struggling with. I also got a chance to go to a birthday party and show off my balloon animal making skills (I can make a dog and a sword) much to the enjoyment of a bunch of children. My community also celebrated “San Juan.” Children rode around on “palitos” and we paraded around the streets, people danced, and I hung out with some of my 3rd graders. 

Linda’s school did another performance-this time at the public library. She did a solo dance performance and sang with a group of other girls. La Pintada has also instated a new location for “bailes” or “dances.” My host mom took Linda and I there and it was certainly interesting. At first no one was there so we decided to go wait in the park where we amused ourselves by acting out random improv scenes. My host mom stole the show when Linda challenged her to act out giving birth in the park. 

shakespeare in the park

This month was pretty tough on me. I’d bbeen feeling pretty stressed out from a lot of things and decided to really take time to focus on my health and wellbeing. I worked out a lot, started meditating, and started writing more. I threw myself into things I was really passionate about(I’m working on a pads/tampons initiative

that I’ll hopefully talk more about in the future). Finally I started really working on my report and making some plans for community English courses. I pretty much listened to the entire “If/then” soundtrack on repeat multiple times. So I’m taking a page from Idina Menzel’s book and saying “No more wasted time, no more standing still, I once would dream of building cities and now I think I will.”

Standard

3 thoughts on “No More Wasted Time

  1. Linda Thiemeyer says:

    You always amaze me . You are such an amazing young lady keep up the good work . I am sure all the kids love you. And I do to love that sung too. Love you 😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen ORTMAN says:

    I love reading your blogs and hearing about your adventure. I admire everything you are doing and I know that you are making a difference. xoxoxoxox

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

